The British Virgin Islands and the EU List of Non-Cooperative Tax Jurisdictions

The EU has announced it is has added the British Virgin Islands (BVI) to its list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes.  The BVI Government has since issued a statement highlighting that it has already introduced legislation to address the EU Council's concerns but the legislative changes, which came into effect in January, were not recognised in the most recent OECD peer review rating. The BVI has requested a supplementary review to more accurately reflect the current legislative status with a view to having the BVI removed from the list as soon as possible.

The inclusion of the BVI will have limited or no direct immediate consequences for investors or institutions using BVI structures. Please click the button below to read our full advisory note.


Click to view advisory

Matthew Cowman Managing PartnerT +1 284 852
Iona WrightSenior CounselT +1 284 852
Hannah SagalaTeam Manager, Corporate ServicesT +1 284 542
Nicholas QuinManaging Director, AmericasT +1 345 914

Lucy FrewPartnerT +1 345 814
Andrew HowarthPartnerT +1 345 814
Steven ManningChief Executive Officer – WPST +1 345 814
Nicholas QuinManaging Director, AmericasT +1 345 914
Dorothy ScottManaging Director, AmericasT +1 345 914

Daniel WoodManaging PartnerT +971 4 363

Colm DawsonPartnerT +852 2596

Jack BoldarinManaging PartnerT +44 (0)20 7220
Sara HallPartnerT +44 (0)20 7220

John RogersManaging PartnerT +65 6595

Related Content