Walkers celebrating success of its first Business Summer School for Guernsey students

Walkers' inaugural Business Summer School has been hailed as a great success by the 35 sixth form students who attended – both in-person and online – and the firm is already planning to repeat the scheme next year and in Jersey.

In the week-long Business School which ran last week the law firm, currently celebrating its fifth anniversary in the Island, offered the students in Guernsey the chance to gain a real insight into the world of work in the law, wider financial services and corporate business or even as an entrepreneur. In addition there were lively interactive sessions including a mock Board meeting and a Moot before local judge Lieutenant Bailiff Hazel Marshall QC.

The programme had interesting and informative contributions from representatives of Investec, KPMG and Saffery Champness, as well as from London lawyers - partner Jeremy Kosky from Magic Circle firm Clifford Chance and Barrister James Fennemore from XXIV Old Buildings.

Jonathan Creasey gave insight into running one of Guernsey's biggest and most well-known retail businesses, and entrepreneur Mark Whitman from Bluedot Ventures described his life as a successful entrepreneur, all ably supported by members at all levels of Walkers' legal practice groups.

"Every day of the week was a new adventure. The Walkers Business Summer School gave us positive insights into the Guernsey business world," said attendees Katrina Guilbert and Daisy Livesey.

"It was eye-opening and informative – great in exploring the different paths from the experts themselves," said Charlie Edwards.

The head of Walkers' Guernsey Insolvency & Dispute Resolution team, Alison Ozanne, who led the programme had the support of Sarah Ash, Jamie Bookless, Helena Lavin, Jessica Robinson, Laurent Thibeault, Katherine Jensen, Kathryn Macken, Angela Proctor, Hannah Green, Scott Guilbert, Ben Queree and Valerie Weeks.

Alison said: "The feedback that we have had from the students who joined us for the week has been exceptional – we are delighted with how the event went, and more importantly, that the attendees felt that they got some real insight from the events and from the guest speakers.

"The feedback from the guest speakers has also been excellent, and reflects that the students were engaged, switched-on and had plenty of questions to ask.

"We are really pleased that the event has been successful, and we are looking forward to repeating it next year."

Walkers has ten partners in its Guernsey office leading teams specialising in Insolvency & Dispute Resolution, Investment Funds & Corporate, Insurance, Banking & Finance, Private Capital & Trusts and Employment.

GUERNSEY
Matt SandersManaging PartnerT +44 (0) 1481 748 914matt.sanders@walkersglobal.com
Alison OzannePartnerT +44 (0) 1481 748 905alison.ozanne@walkersglobal.com
Sarah AshGroup Partner*T +44 (0) 1481 748 935sarah.ash@walkersglobal.com
Jamie BooklessSenior CounselT +44 1481 748926jamie.bookless@walkersglobal.com
Helena LavinSenior AssociateT +44 (0) 1481 748 948helena.lavin@walkersglobal.com
Jessica RobinsonSenior AssociateT +44 (0) 1481 748 932jessica.robinson@walkersglobal.com
Laurent ThibeaultSenior AssociateT +44 (0) 1481 748 919laurent.thibeault@walkersglobal.com
Katherine JensenAssociateT +44 (0) 1481 748 944katherine.jensen@walkersglobal.com
Kathryn MackenAssociateT +44 (0) 1481 748 934kathryn.macken@walkersglobal.com
Angela ProctorAssociateT +44 (0) 1481 748 903angela.proctor@walkersglobal.com