Walkers Leads Legal 500 2023 Offshore Lawyer Rankings

Walkers is proud to receive 44 individual lawyer rankings in the 2023 Legal 500 Caribbean directory and 46 Leading Individual, Next Generation Partner, and Rising Star rankings in total, more than any other offshore firm.

The guide ranks 18 practice areas across Walkers' offices in Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands and the Cayman Islands, solidifying Walkers' reputation as the leading law firm in the Legal 500 Caribbean Guide. Eight practice areas are ranked as Tier 1 practices, with Walkers' other 10 practice areas all ranking in Tier 2.

Cayman Islands Managing Partner Tim Buckley said: "The ranking of so many of our lawyers and practices underlines the strength and depth of our teams across Bermuda, the BVI and the Cayman Islands and our focus on providing high quality, responsive service to our clients.".

Walkers' top tier rankings with verbatim client comments:

  • Bermuda – Regulatory & Compliance
"Walkers have provided us with advice which is always on time and succinct. The team is very responsive and provides helpful input on complex matters."

  • British Virgin Islands - Dispute Resolution
"Without doubt, the team… is outstanding and the best on the BVI. They are extremely hard-working and get results that no one else would get. They take on the toughest of cases and always fight to win."

  • British Virgin Islands - Trusts / Private Client
"In addition to its structuring and probate capabilities Walkers BVI is noted for the depth of its contentious trusts offering, representing numerous high-net-worth individuals and family companies in a host of claims and proceedings in a range of court settings."

  • Cayman Islands - Banking, Finance & Capital Markets
"The Walkers team has helped us to navigate through issues in both an unfamiliar jurisdiction and an unfamiliar area of the law for us. Their responsiveness, thoroughness, and ability to explain the issues is highly valued."

  • Cayman Islands - Dispute Resolution
"Provide insolvency and restructuring legal advice and support on complex offshore financial issues in a consistently articulate, precise and prompt manner whether orally, in writing or before the Grand Court or Court of Appeal of the Cayman Islands or the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London."

  • Cayman Islands - Investment Funds
"Walkers' sizeable investment funds practice is routinely engaged by a stellar roster of blue-chip asset managers, which turn to the team for its eminent capabilities in big-ticket financings, listings, SPAC launches, and other fund formations."

  • Cayman Islands – Regulatory & Compliance
"Noted for the depth of its standalone regulatory practice, Walkers is engaged by a significant number of leading merchant banks, investment banks and asset managers for assistance with a range of high-profile, multi-jurisdictional projects."

  • Cayman Islands - Trusts / Private Client
"The Walkers private client team are fantastic to deal with and are the only cohesive team in the sector with the technical bandwidth to cover the full spectrum of private client disciplines – they are one of the few firms that recognise that this includes classic intergenerational planning as well as transactional solutions for liquidity events and a superb digital assets team based in Cayman."


Walkers' 44 individual lawyer rankings in full

Nineteen of the firm's attorneys received the top "Leading Individual" rating from Legal 500:


Bermuda:

  • Jonathan Betts - Banking, Finance & Capital Markets and Corporate & Commercial
  • Kevin Taylor - Dispute Resolution
  • Steven White - Dispute Resolution
  • Sarah Demerling – Insurance & Reinsurance
  • Peter Dunlop – Insurance / Reinsurance
British Virgin Islands:

  • Oliver Clifton - Dispute Resolution
  • Rosalind Nicholson - Dispute Resolution and
Cayman Islands:

  • James Burch - Banking, Finance & Capital Markets
  • Philip Paschalides - Banking, Finance & Capital Markets
  • Rob Jackson - Banking, Finance & Capital Markets and Corporate & Commercial
  • David Collins - Corporate & Commercial
  • Matthew Goucke – Dispute Resolution
  • Neil Lupton – Dispute Resolution
  • Shelley White – Dispute Resolution
  • Rolf Lindsay – Investment Funds
  • Caroline Williams – Investment Funds
  • Lucy Frew – Regulatory & Compliance
  • Juliana Tang - Regulatory & Compliance
  • David Pytches – Trusts / Private Client
A further 16 lawyers received the "Next Generation Partners" ranking – highlighting the strength and depth of Walkers' team:


Bermuda:

  • Adam Bathgate - Banking, Finance & Capital Markets
  • Natalie Neto – Corporate & Commercial
British Virgin Islands:

  • Matthew Cowman - Banking, Finance & Capital Markets and Corporate & Commercial
  • Omonike Robinson-Pickering – Banking, Finance & Capital Markets
  • Murray Laing – Dispute Resolution
  • Iain Tucker – Dispute Resolution
  • Rosalind Nicholson – Trusts / Private Client
Cayman Islands:

  • Sarah Humpleby – Banking, Finance & Capital
  • Justin Hart – Corporate & Commercial
  • Rupert Bell – Dispute Resolution
  • Andrew Barker – Investment Funds
  • Bicrom Das – Investment Funds
  • Theo Lefkos – Investment Funds
  • Tony de Quintal – Regulatory & Compliance
  • Andrew Howarth - Regulatory & Compliance
  • Monique Bhullar – Trusts / Private Client
An additional 10 lawyers across Walkers' three Americas offices also received the "Rising Star" accolade:

Bermuda:

  • Nathalie West - Banking, Finance & Capital Markets
  • Rachel Nightingale – Corporate & Commercial
  • Melanie Fullerton – Regulatory & Compliance
British Virgin Islands:

  • Cate Barbour - Dispute Resolution
  • Paul Waldron - Investment Funds
Cayman Islands:

  • Niall Hanna – Dispute Resolution
  • Fiona MacAdam – Dispute Resolution
  • Christine Ballantyne-Drewe – Investment Funds
  • Matt Bernardo – Investment Funds
  • Lucy Diggle - Trusts / Private Client

BERMUDA
Kevin TaylorManaging PartnerT +1 441 242 1510kevin.taylor@walkersglobal.com
Adam BathgatePartnerT +1 441 242 1515adam.bathgate@walkersglobal.com
Jonathan BettsPartnerT +1 441 242 1511jonathan.betts@walkersglobal.com
Sarah Demerling PartnerT +1 441 242 1525sarah.demerling@walkersglobal.com
Peter DunlopPartnerT +1 441 242 1524 peter.dunlop@walkersglobal.com
Natalie NetoPartnerT +1 441 242 1533natalie.neto@walkersglobal.com
Steven WhitePartnerT +1 441 242 1562 Steven.White@walkersglobal.com
Melanie FullertonSenior CounselT +1 441 242 1537melanie.fullerton@walkersglobal.com
Rachel NightingaleSenior CounselT +1 441 242 1520rachel.nightingale@walkersglobal.com
Nathalie WestSenior CounselT +1 441 242 1523nathalie.west@walkersglobal.com

BRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS
Matthew Cowman Managing PartnerT +1 284 852 2208matthew.cowman@walkersglobal.com
Oliver CliftonPartnerT +1 284 852 2246oliver.clifton@walkersglobal.com
Lucy DigglePartnerT +1 345 914 4250lucy.diggle@walkersglobal.com
Lucy FrewPartnerT +1 345 814 4676lucy.frew@walkersglobal.com
Murray LaingPartnerT +1 284 852 2226 murray.laing@walkersglobal.com
Rosalind NicholsonPartnerT +1 284 852 2237rosalind.nicholson@walkersglobal.com
David PytchesPartnerT +1 345 814 6831 david.pytches@walkersglobal.com
Omonike Robinson-PickeringPartnerT +1 284 852 2222omonike.robinson-pickering@walkersglobal.com
Iain TuckerPartnerT +1 284 852 2230iain.tucker@walkersglobal.com
Paul WaldronPartnerT +1 284 852 2249paul.waldron@walkersglobal.com

CAYMAN ISLANDS
Andrew BarkerPartnerT +1 345 914 4282andrew.barker@walkersglobal.com
Rupert BellPartnerT +1 345 914 4203rupert.bell@walkersglobal.com
Matt BernardoPartnerT +1 345 914 4268matt.bernardo@walkersglobal.com
Monique BhullarPartnerT +1 345 814 6838monique.bhullar@walkersglobal.com
James BurchPartnerT +1 345 814 4634james.burch@walkersglobal.com
David CollinsPartnerT +1 345 814 4503 david.collins@walkersglobal.com
Bicrom DasPartnerT +1 345 814 4606bicrom.das@walkersglobal.com
Tony De QuintalPartnerT +1 345 914 6388tony.dequintal@walkersglobal.com
Lucy DigglePartnerT +1 345 914 4250lucy.diggle@walkersglobal.com
Lucy FrewPartnerT +1 345 814 4676lucy.frew@walkersglobal.com
Matthew GouckePartnerT +1 345 914 6332matthew.goucke@walkersglobal.com
Niall HannaPartnerT +1 345 914 4201niall.hanna@walkersglobal.com
Justin HartPartnerT +1 345 814 4565justin.hart@walkersglobal.com
Andrew HowarthPartnerT +1 345 814 4561andrew.howarth@walkersglobal.com
Sarah HumplebyPartnerT +1 345 814 6843sarah.humpleby@walkersglobal.com
Rob JacksonPartnerT +1 345 914 4281rob.jackson@walkersglobal.com
Theo LefkosPartnerT +1 345 814 4620theo.lefkos@walkersglobal.com
Neil LuptonPartnerT +1 345 914 4286neil.lupton@walkersglobal.com
Fiona MacAdamPartnerT +1 345 914 4273fiona.macadam@walkersglobal.com
Philip PaschalidesPartnerT +1 345 814 4675philip.paschalides@walkersglobal.com
David PytchesPartnerT +1 345 814 6831 david.pytches@walkersglobal.com
Shelley WhitePartnerT +1 345 914 4205shelley.white@walkersglobal.com
Caroline WilliamsPartnerT +1 345 914 6342caroline.williams@walkersglobal.com
Christine Ballantyne-DreweSenior CounselT +1 345 814 4550christine.ballantyne-drewe@walkersglobal.com
Juliana TangSenior CounselT +1 345 814 4612juliana.tang@walkersglobal.com

DUBAI
Cate BarbourSenior CounselT +971 4 363 7917cate.barbour@walkersglobal.com

Related Content